Outdoor Movies Are Back, Baby

After a year off due to the pandemic, outdoor movies are returning this summer, albeit a little late. Or, hear me out, not late enough. Consider the fall, for example, the perfect time for outdoor movies.

Still, it’s nice to see a return to the Before, and outdoor movies have become a staple of summertime in the city. A time when we all sweat inches apart from each other while enjoying an old movie in the subtropical climate.

Both Bryant Park and Brooklyn Bridge Park announced their return today, along with (partial) lineups.

BRYANT PARK

Movie nights return Monday, August 23rd, 5 p.m. “doors”

Monday, August 23
Clueless

Tuesday, August 24
TBA

Monday, August 30
TBA

Tuesday, August 31
TBA

Monday, September 6
TBA

Tuesday, September 7
TBA

Monday, September 13
TBA

Tuesday, September 14
MOULIN ROUGE!

Monday, September 27
The Phantom of the Opera

Tuesday, September 28
Mrs. Doubtfire

DETAILS

  • Safety note: “As New York State and City safety guidelines for public gatherings quickly change in response to the ongoing success of NYC’s COVID-19 vaccination program, Bryant Park continues to reassess its on-site protocols for upcoming shows with the intention of safely accommodating as many attendees as possible.”
  • Find more details here (along with future announcements)


Brooklyn Bridge Park with movie screen and skyline
arrow

Brooklyn Bridge Park movie night Etienne Frossard/BBP

BROOKLYN BRIDGE PARK

Movie nights return Thursday, August 5th, 6 p.m. “doors”
Pier 1 Harbor View Lawn

Monday, August 5

Shaun of the Dead

Monday, August 12

Patti Cake$

Monday, August 19

Akeelah and the Bee

Monday, August 26

Karate Kid

DETAILS

  • Smorgasburg will provide your food and drink options at each movie night, “featuring a selection of NYC’s favorite food vendors.” Beer and wine will be available.
  • Blankets are allowed, but chairs are not.
  • Since you probably want to stake out a spot on the lawn early, know there will be a pre-movie lineup, as usual — this includes a DJ and a short film featuring local filmmakers (courtesy BAMcinématek.
  • Safety note: “At this time, no health screening or proof of vaccination is required to attend Movies With A View. Due to the ongoing risk of COVID-19 in New York City, the continued use of masks in crowded settings is recommended for all non-vaccinated individuals. We ask that unvaccinated individuals also maintain social distancing.”
  • Bonus: Free bike valet will be available thanks to Transportation Alternatives.
  • Find more details here (along with future announcements)

Source